AWIEF Awards for Women Business Owners and Entrepreneurs in Africa 2022

AWIEF Awards 2022 for Women Business Owners and Entrepreneurs in Africa

AWIEF Awards for Women Business Owners and Entrepreneurs in Africa 2022

Nominations have started for the 2022 edition of the prestigious AWIEF Awards. The 2015 founded organization which has about 47 African countries represented recognize, honor, and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa and across various industry sectors for their achievements and contribution to the continent’s inclusive economic growth and social development.

AWIEF is an award-winning pan-African women’s economic empowerment organization, that has been granted a Special Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). AWIEF works to close the gender gap by driving women’s business leadership and entrepreneurship in Africa. AWIEF’s mission is to foster the economic inclusion, advancement, and empowerment of women in Africa through entrepreneurship support and development


AWIEF Awards

AWIEF was awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Diversity and Inclusion awards by The Associations Advance Africa Awards in 2021. And they have also been granted Special Consultative Status to the United Nations ECOSOC

Aim and Benefits of AWIEF Awards
Winners of the 2022 AWIEF Awards will be announced and celebrated at a special gala dinner at the AWIEF2022 conference, which is set to hold on the 26 and 27 September 2022, in Cairo, Egypt, on the theme ‘Advancing Africa through Gender Integration’.

However, The AWIEF Awards cover 8 categories with the following criteria:

Tech Entrepreneur Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs who have built an innovative, groundbreaking, and game-changing technology venture or start-up.

The Young Entrepreneur Award

Nominees must be between 18 and 35 years old and must exemplify leadership in their field and the importance of entrepreneurship to effect positive change. The young entrepreneurs must have achieved tangible and material success (revenue and number of employees can indicate this).

Creative Industry Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs who reflect outstanding success in the creative industry, including music, performing arts, film, television and radio, software and interactive content such as virtual reality and augmented reality, media writing, publishing, and print media, design and visual art.

Agri Entrepreneur Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs who have successfully started an agri-enterprise and have an innovative product or service in the Agriculture value chain with evidence of impact in their communities.

Social Entrepreneur Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs who have developed an innovative, systemic and sustainable solution that directly tackles a social issue, thereby having a transformative social impact on their communities and countries.

Empowerment Award

Nominees should be women who have greatly contributed and invested in inspiring, mentoring, and empowering women and girls, thereby significantly impacting the communities in which they operate, and society at large.

Energy Entrepreneur Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs in the oil & gas and/or green energy & renewable energy sectors who are operating successful businesses with an impact on energy access and/or the availability in their communities and countries.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominees should be established women entrepreneurs who have demonstrated prolonged and consistent achievements in business, and exceptional and outstanding business leadership. The award also recognizes significant contributions made to job creation and the economy.


Requirements for AWIEF Awards Qualification
Nominees for the AWIEF Awards should be emerging and established female entrepreneurs in the private business and not-for-profit sectors who have demonstrated outstanding vision, leadership, and inspiration in spite of challenges to make a significant social impact and/or become successful in their businesses in line with AWIEF’s core areas of innovation, technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and socio-economic development.

Nominations for the 2022 AWIEF Awards close on 3rd June 2022. You can either self-nominate or nominate someone else.

The nomination process:

  1. Visit HERE for more information
  2. Register an entrant profile by clicking “Submit an entry” in the top right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Fill in the nomination form and submit it.

Leave a Reply