Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 for Young Africans

Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 for Young Africans

Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 for Young Africans

The U.S. Department of State and IREX are inviting suitably qualified young Africans to apply for the Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 for Young Africans and take part in a six-week Leadership program at a U.S. college or university.

The Mandela Washington Fellowship is the flagship program of the United States Government’s Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI). In the summer of 2025, the Fellowship will bring up to 700 young African leaders to the United States for a comprehensive program designed to build skills and empower Fellows to lead in their respective sectors and communities.

SEE ALSO: Ellison Scholarships 2024 at University of Oxford

Fellowship Summary:

Fellowship Sponsor(s): U.S. Government and IREX

Host Institution(s): U.S. College or University

Fellowship Duration: 6 Weeks

Number of Awards: Several

Study Level: All Study Levels

Nationality: Africans

Eligibility for the Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 for Young Africans:

  • Applicants must be between the ages of 25 and 35 on or before the application deadline, although exceptional applicants ages 21-24 will be considered.
  • Applicants must not be U.S. citizens or permanent residents of the United States.
  • Applicants must be eligible to receive a United States J-1 visa.
  • Applicants must not be employees or immediate family members of employees of the U.S. Government (including a U.S. embassy or consulate, USAID, or other U.S. Government entity).
  • Applicants must be proficient in reading, writing, and speaking English (additional guidance coming for applicants who are deaf).
  • Applicants must be citizens of one of the following countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, or Zimbabwe.
  • Applicants must be residents of one of the above countries.
  • Applicants must not be Alumni of the Mandela Washington Fellowship.

Method of Application for the Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 for Young Africans:

Interested applicants for the Mandela Washington Fellowship 2025 are to apply online before the application deadline. Kindly get in touch with the Fellowship team on any questions via email.

SEE ALSO: Czech Republic Government Scholarship 2024

Application Deadline: September 2024.

For more information about this opportunity, Visit the Official Website.

Leave a Reply